Nuremberg Christmas Market Food Tour: Christmas City Culinary Tour
- 2 hoursDuration
- 4.6 · 40Reviews on GetYourGuide
- From $60per person
- Free cancellation 24hCancellation
Quick answer Price, route and tastings at a glance
This Nuremberg Christmas market food tour costs $60 per person, runs 2 hours on foot and caps the group at 12 people. Six stops include sausage, Lebkuchen and hot wine. It covers three markets and ends at the Market of the Sister Cities near St. Sebaldus Church.
Key takeaways
- All taxes, fees and gratuities are included, so no tipping is expected. See what the price covers.
- The route spans the Hauptmarkt, the Children's Christmas and the Sister Cities market. The stop plan lists times for each.
- Cheaper with tastings: the Christmas Market History & Tastings Tour costs $28 for 2 hours.
- Want a full meal instead? The Do Eat Better Nuremberg Food Tour runs 3.5 hours for $123.82.
Sold and operated by Wie schmeckt meine Stadt GbR. Booked and paid through GetYourGuide. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you. Compare all Nuremberg Christmas market tours
This Nuremberg Christmas market food tour is a two hour walk run by Wie schmeckt meine Stadt GbR for groups of up to 12 people. It starts near the Fleischbrücke and covers the Hauptmarkt, the Children's Christmas on Hans-Sachs-Platz and the Market of the Sister Cities by St. Sebaldus Church. Sausage, Lebkuchen and hot wine are included at the stops. It suits travellers who want the markets explained and fed in one go, without paying for a full meal. If you only want a cheap market walk, the Christmas market in Nuremberg guide lists cheaper options.
About This Tour
Wie schmeckt meine Stadt GbR runs a two hour walking food tour through Nuremberg's Christmas markets. The walk starts near the Fleischbrücke, crosses the Hauptmarkt twice, passes the Children's Christmas on Hans-Sachs-Platz and ends at the Market of the Sister Cities between St. Sebaldus Church and the Town Hall. Six stops carry food and drinks, including sausage, Lebkuchen and hot wine.
The guide explains the history of the Christkindlesmarkt and the Christ Child tradition. The tour runs rain or shine, is wheelchair accessible and costs $60 per person with all taxes and fees included. Cancellation is free up to 24 hours in advance.
$60 per person. All taxes and fees are included. Gratuities are included.
2 hours on foot. Stop times run 5 to 30 minutes each.
Two starting location options, depending on the selected option. Check the booking page for the exact meeting point.
Season dates are not stated. The tour takes place rain or shine.
Standard group of up to 12 people. Not private. Guided in German or English.
Cancel up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund. Reserve now, pay later.
Check Dates and Availability
Meeting points and start times vary by option, so check the booking page for your date. Free cancellation applies up to 24 hours before the start.
Tour Itinerary
No clock start time is published, so the phases below carry the stop lengths.
-
Meet
Meeting point
Two starting location options exist and the exact point varies by option. Confirm it on the booking page. Walk to the first stop on foot.
-
5 minutes
Fleischbrücke
A short guided introduction on the Fleischbrücke, before the market squares.
-
30 minutes
Hauptmarkt, first visit
First tasting stop with regional food on the main square, with the Frauenkirche above the stalls.
-
20 minutes
Hans-Sachs-Platz
The Children's Christmas market, with a guided walk and another tasting.
-
25 minutes
Hauptmarkt, second visit
Back to the main market for more tastings and the history of the Christkindlesmarkt.
-
20 minutes
Unnamed stop, then St. Sebaldus Church
A 20 minute tasting stop at an unnamed location, then 20 minutes at St. Sebaldus Church.
-
End
Market of the Sister Cities
The tour ends between St. Sebald Church and the Town Hall on Rathausplatz. Stay on to browse the market.
Nuremberg Lebkuchen at the Christkindlesmarkt. Photo: charley1965, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
What the Price Covers
Food and drinks at the culinary stops are inside the $60, market purchases afterwards are not.
Included and Paid on Top
The guide, culinary stops with food and drinks, and gratuities are included. Sausage, Lebkuchen and hot wine are named as the tastings, and hot wine with other drinks at the stops counts as included.
Gratuities are included, so tips are covered.
Anything extra you buy at the stalls, plus transport to the meeting point, comes out of your own pocket. Extra Glühwein beyond the stops is not stated as included.
| Item | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Guide | Yes | German or English |
| Culinary stops with food and drinks | Yes | Six stops, 5 to 30 minutes each |
| Sausage and Lebkuchen tastings | Yes | Named as included tastings |
| Hot wine at the stops | Yes | Other drinks at stops included |
| Gratuities | Yes | Tips are covered |
| Extra food or drinks at the stalls | No | Buy on your own |
| Transport to the meeting point | No | Tour is on foot, travel to the start is yours |
| Hotel pickup | No | Not offered |
| Luggage or large bags | Not allowed | Bring small bags only |
Three in a bun: Drei im Weggla. Photo: Jarlhelm, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Book It If, Skip It If
Book it if
- you want tastings covered in the price, since the $60 includes six stops, all taxes, fees and gratuities
- you prefer a small group, because the standard group is capped at 12 people
- you need a wheelchair accessible tour that runs rain or shine over 2 hours
Skip it if
- you are watching your budget, because the same 2 hours with tastings costs $28 on the Christmas Market History & Tastings Tour
- you want a full meal, since the Do Eat Better Nuremberg Food Tour runs 3.5 hours for $123.82
- you are vegetarian or vegan, because diet options are not stated and the sausage stop is fixed unless the operator confirms otherwise
Pros and Cons
An honest read of what this listing does well and where it falls short.
What we genuinely like
- Six stops with food and drinks over 2 hours, and gratuities are included, so the $60 covers the whole walk.
- Group cap of 12 people keeps the group small.
- The route covers three separate markets, including the Market of the Sister Cities where the tour ends.
- Wheelchair accessible and free cancellation up to 24 hours ahead.
- Rated 4.6 from 40 verified bookings.
The honest downsides
- At $60 it costs more than the $28 Christmas Market History & Tastings Tour, which is also 2 hours and includes tastings.
- The meeting point varies by option and no start time is published, so check the booking page carefully before arranging the rest of your evening.
- One stop's location is not stated, and itineraries can change, so the exact route is not guaranteed.
- Diet options are not stated, so vegetarians and vegans need to ask the operator first.
Who it's NOT for: Travellers watching their budget should book the Christmas Market History & Tastings Tour instead, and anyone wanting a full meal should look at the Do Eat Better Nuremberg Food Tour.
Before You Go
Book a date when all three markets on the route are open, and come dressed for a winter evening on foot.
Dates That Matter
The whole route works from 27 November to 23 December. After 23 December the Sister Cities market, where the tour ends, is closed, and the main market shuts at 14:00 on 24 December. The Children's Christmas alone keeps going to 30 December.
The tour runs rain or shine, and the market can close early in severe weather by loudspeaker announcement.
Money at the Stalls
Cash and cards are both accepted at the stalls. The Christkindlesmarkt-Taler, a $5.57 (€5) voucher, is accepted at Hauptmarkt stalls, the Market of the Sister Cities, the Kinderweihnacht and Original Regional. Glühwein stands use one reusable mug system with a deposit, and the deposit amount is not published.
For getting there, the VGN single ticket for Nuremberg costs $4.34 (€3.90) and a day ticket solo $11.80 (€10.60), while a group day ticket for one to six people, with at most two adults, is $17.25 (€15.50).
What to Bring and Who Can Join
Bring comfortable shoes and warm clothing. Luggage or large bags are not allowed. No minimum age or difficulty rating is published for this tour.
The tour is listed as wheelchair accessible. No hotel pickup is offered, so make your own way to the meeting point you select.
Sources: Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt, VAG Nuremberg, VGN.
How the Tour Runs
The walk covers about 2 hours across six stops, all on foot in the old town. No clock start time is published, and the meeting point depends on the option you select.
Route and Stops
Two starting location options exist and the meeting point may vary by option, so check availability when booking. From the start the group walks to the Fleischbrücke for a short 5 minute introduction, then reaches the Hauptmarkt for a 30 minute stop with tastings.
The route continues to Hans-Sachs-Platz, home of the Children's Christmas, for 20 minutes with food and regional tastings. It returns to the Hauptmarkt for another 25 minutes, then makes a 20 minute stop at an unnamed location, and finishes with 20 minutes at St. Sebaldus Church.
The tour runs through the Children's Christmas Market, the International Christmas Market, and ends at the Market of the Partner Cities, between St. Sebald Church and the Town Hall. Itineraries are subject to change. The end point is that partner cities market by the church, not the start point.
| Part of the tour | Time | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Fleischbrücke | 5 minutes | Guided introduction |
| Hauptmarkt, first visit | 30 minutes | Guided tour, food tasting, regional food |
| Hans-Sachs-Platz | 20 minutes | Children's Christmas, tasting stop |
| Hauptmarkt, second visit | 25 minutes | Guided tour, food tasting, regional food |
| Unnamed stop | 20 minutes | Location not stated |
| St. Sebaldus Church | 20 minutes | Guided tour, final tasting |
| End point | Not stated | Market of the Partner Cities between St. Sebald and the Town Hall |
Free Time at the Market
There is no separate free-time slot at the stalls. The two Hauptmarkt visits together give 55 minutes of guided time with tastings. If you want to browse on your own, stay after the tour ends.
The Christkindlesmarkt runs 27 November to 24 December, daily 10:00-21:00, and closes at 14:00 on 24 December. The Market of the Sister Cities, where the tour ends, runs 27 November to 23 December, so a late tour near the end of the season finishes at a market that has already closed. Plan your booking date around that.
The Christkindlesmarkt on Video
A walk through the Christkindlesmarkt and the old town around it, to see the stalls and the squares before you go. Third-party video by Walking Dots. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
What You Taste and How It Is Served
The named tastings are sausage, Lebkuchen and hot wine. Here is how Nuremberg serves each of them at the market.
Nuremberg Rostbratwurst
A genuine Nuremberg Rostbratwurst is 7 to 9 cm long and weighs 20 to 25 g, and the recipe of pork, salt, pepper and marjoram has been protected as an EU geographic indication since 2003. At the stalls the classic order is three in a bun, called Drei im Weggla. In the sit-down Bratwurstküchen you get 6, 8, 10 or 12 sausages on a pewter plate, with sauerkraut or potato salad.
The market's sausage stalls have changed location every year since the 1990s, so do not count on last year's map.
Lebkuchen and Hot Wine
Nuremberg Lebkuchen has carried EU protection since 1996 and must be made in the city. The premium Elisenlebkuchen must contain at least 25 percent nuts and at most 10 percent flour. Some Elisenlebkuchen are sold in vegan versions at the market.
Nürnberger Glühwein has been EU protected since the early 1990s, and blueberry Glühwein is the insider tip. Twenty Glühwein vendors share one reusable mug design that changes each year, so the same mug works at every hot-drink stand. Return it to reclaim the deposit, or keep it as a souvenir.
Source: Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt.
The Children's Christmas on Hans-Sachs-Platz. Photo: Lothar Weber, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Which Parts of the Christkindlesmarkt You See
The route touches the Hauptmarkt, the Children's Christmas and the Market of the Sister Cities. The last two are separate markets with their own dates.
Hauptmarkt and the Children's Christmas
The Hauptmarkt hosts the Christkindlesmarkt itself, 27 November to 24 December, daily 10:00-21:00 and 10:00-14:00 on 24 December, with around 170 to 180 wooden stalls. The Frauenkirche and the Schöner Brunnen frame the square. By the Sebalduskirche sit the four Original Regional stalls with Franconian goods, trading until 23 December.
The stop on Hans-Sachs-Platz is the Children's Christmas, the Kinderweihnacht, which runs 27 November to 30 December with a carousel, steam train and craft workshops. It is a family stop rather than a food destination, so the tastings there focus on regional treats.
The Market of the Sister Cities
The tour ends at the Market of the Partner Cities on Rathausplatz, between St. Sebald Church and the Town Hall. It is a separate market run by the city's Office for International Relations, open 27 November to 23 December. Nuremberg has 14 twin cities, and the proceeds go to charities in the twin towns. Last season it had 23 stalls with goods from partner cities including Skopje and Santiago de Cuba.
What the tour skips is the Winterdorf on Jakobsplatz, which runs longer, 13 November to 9 January, with a Ferris wheel. If you want the castle and its gingerbread tasting added to your day, book the Castle Tour with Lebkuchen Tasting separately.
Sources: City of Nuremberg, Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt.
Vegetarian and Vegan Options on the Tour
The operator does not state diet options for this tour. Ask before booking if this matters to you.
What Is Meat and What Is Not
Of the three named tastings, the sausage is the only meat item. Lebkuchen and hot wine are not meat. Beyond that, it is not stated whether the guide can arrange vegetarian or vegan alternatives at the six stops, so email the operator through the booking page before you pay.
Treat the sausage stop as fixed unless you get written confirmation otherwise.
Vegan Finds at the Market Itself
The market states that some Elisenlebkuchen are available in vegan versions at the stalls. The city also publishes six themed routes for exploring the market, one of them dedicated to vegan food and gifts. If the tour cannot adapt, you can follow that vegan route on your own before or after the walk.
Source: Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt.
Crowds, Weekdays and Where to Eat Afterwards
More than two million people visited the market last season, so plan your timing around the tasting stops.
Advent Weekends
The city expects very high visitor numbers on Advent weekends and advises leaving the car at a Park+Ride and taking public transport, with the U1 running doubled on those days. The 24 December trading ends at 14:00, which changes the feel entirely.
Where the Tour Ends
The Market of the Sister Cities on Rathausplatz is where the tour ends. Last season it had 23 stalls with goods from partner cities, and it runs to 23 December.
Sit-down Bratwurst Kitchens
If the tastings leave you hungry, the sit-down Bratwurstküchen serve the sausages in portions of 6, 8, 10 or 12 on a pewter plate. Toilets sit in the Rathaus for $0.56 (€0.50), entered from Rathausplatz, with a fee-based toilet wagon on Obstmarkt behind the Frauenkirche.
Source: Nuremberg Christkindlesmarkt.
What Travelers Said
The guide was very knowledgeable! It was a great tour!
Extremely well prepared and executed. Our guide was very well prepared and extremely knowledgeable of the city and the Christmas Market.
Great tour, returned to the market the next day and felt I knew my way around and what was good to buy.
Martina was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the food we tried was great!
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a Nuremberg Christmas market food tour worth the money?
At $60 for 2 hours with six tasting stops, all taxes, fees and gratuities included, this one prices well above the $28 Christmas Market History & Tastings Tour of the same length. It earns its premium through the smaller 12-person group and the three-market route.
What food is famous at the Nuremberg Christmas Market?
Nuremberg Rostbratwurst, Lebkuchen and Glühwein, exactly the three tastings named on this Christmas City Culinary Tour. Prune people, the Zwetschgenmännle figures, are the classic sweet souvenir.
Where does the tour start?
The meeting point varies depending on the option you select, with two starting location options. Check the details on the booking page when you pick a date.
Does the tour include drinks?
Yes, hot wine and other drinks at the culinary stops are included in the price. Drinks you buy at stalls after the tour ends are not.
Is the tour suitable for wheelchairs?
The tour is listed as wheelchair accessible. See what to bring and who can join.
What happens if it rains?
The tour takes place rain or shine. In severe weather the city may close the market early by loudspeaker announcement, which can affect the stops.
Can I cancel if my plans change?
Yes, cancel up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund, and reserve now pay later is available on the booking page.
Compare with
Castle and Old Town Tour - incl. tasting of original Nuremberg gingerbread
Includes castle entrance fees, a 100-step tower climb and a Nuremberg gingerbread tasting in a small group of 12.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Fratello Tours
Food Tour with Full Meal & Drinks by Do Eat Better
A 3.5 hour small-group food walk with a full meal at 4 stops, Nuremberg specialties and local beer included.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Do Eat Better Experience
Advent Concert in the Meistersingerhalle Nuremberg
A 100-minute Advent concert by the Dresdner Residenz Orchester in the Meistersingerhalle, a seat only, with no walking or market stops.
- Cancellation
- Free cancellation 24h
- Operator
- Dresdner Residenz Konzerte
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure